Information about the Trust

The Central Hawke's Bay Consumers Power Trust is the owner of Centralines. There are seven Trustees, of which four are elected and three are appointed by the highest electricity consumer, the Mayor and the local Council.

Trustee profiles

Alistair Setter

Elected - Appointed Chairman September 2015

A local farmer and a General Manager for a New Zealand Technology Firm. Alistair believes it is vital that power is extremely reliable and delivered at the best value to consumers. The Governance Issues are extremely important and need to be evaluated in terms of what is in the best interest for us, as beneficiaries of the Trust. Alistair was elected onto the Trust in 2012.

Tim Gilbertson


Tim is a local Farmer based in Patangata. He was on the Power Trust for two terms from 2006 until 2012. Tim stood for the Trust in the last election to promote the use of Renewable Energy locally and advance the idea of Distributed Generation as part of Centralines long term strategy. He believes in Local Ownership and control as part of a sound well run business.

Kate Laugesen


Kate is a local Chartered Accountant who is a Director at BM Accounting Limited, managing the firm's Waipawa office. Kate is married to local farmer Graeme, they farm at Elsthorpe where they share a busy and happy life with their three children and also being very involved in the district.

Kate stood for the Trust as she feels passionate about the profits generated by Centralines being returned to the community in the most effective manner. Kate's accountancy and tax knowledge will be valuable in obtaining this goal. Kate is in her  second term as an elected member of the Trust.

Marcus Peacock

Elected - Appointment

A local resident, married with three children and a fourth generation farmer in Waipukurau. Marcus is a strong believer in Centralines continueing to maintain and add value to it's shareholders, us, the local consumers. This is his second term.

Marcus is also involved in the community as a Waipukurau School Trustee and a Trustee of the CHB Community Trust.

Catherine Avery (Catie)

The CHB Mayoral Representative

Catie is a Rural Manager with Rabobank, based in Central Hawke's Bay (CHB). She is a fifth Generation CHB resident. Catie is active in the community being a member of Rotary, several Professional Women's Groups, a judge for the Ballance Environmental Awards and a mentor for Primary ITO.

Catie has a strong desire to see CHB prosper in every respect.

George Williams

CHBDC Appointee

George is currently the Central Hawke's Bay constituency representative for the CHB District Council. George was appointed by the District Council in 2011. George lives at Tikokino and is the third generation of Williams' Farm Te Maire. George is on the Board of Trustees for Tikokino School, a committee member of the Hawkes Bay DFA and on the Central Hawke's Bay Farmers Vet Club.

Richard Dakins

Silver Fern Farms Appointee

Richard and his family are fourth generation farmers at Takapau and is appointed to represent Silver Fern Farms on the CHBCP Trust. Richard is actively involved in the community. He has been a judge for the Balance Farm Environment Awards and is past chair and current committee member of the Ruataniwha Water Users Group.